That Awkward Moment…

 

Police Wife - Do Not Cross Sticker (Rectangle)

 

I know as LEO spouses we have all had this awkward moment. You, or you and your family have been invited to a gathering of some sort that isn’t all officers and there is the question “What does your husband/wife do?” We of course are proud of them and answer the question. Then the response: “Oh” that then opens a door apparently for them to run down the list of bad encounters. While we are all entitled to our opinion this somehow for that profession means sure tell me how horrible you think cops are. I at this moment get the tight jaw and am preparing a response in my head. Usually something to the effect of  “Well next time call a crack head,”  it’s one of my favorites. But it makes me think time after time, what makes them think that we care to hear the details.  If you have had a run in with an officer there was most likely a reason why. Not just because he was bored. Again most likely, not always, but seriously I would be willing to bet more often than not! That happened to us again this weekend. I realize that not being in the profession they just don’t know, but you would think common sense would kick in at some point. I handled it nicely but I don’t always want to. I’m sure there are plenty of you out there who know the feeling. This is just a part of why Officers tend to stay in their circles. It is also part of the reason I started this blog. My husband and I have been married 10 years this year and he became an Officer very shortly after we started dating. He then joined the Marine Corps as an Officer (MP) and since getting out has continued his calling. So for 12 years we have heard this among a slew of other comments. God only knows the things our spouses hear when we aren’t around. I know not everyone sees this job as a “calling” but I believe for them to be able to do what they do it has to be. I also think that being a spouse, whether LEO or Military, is tough work sometimes and may be just as much a calling. So here’s to hoping the next time you get the question you handle it well and don’t drop kick them the way we sometimes want to.

Matthew 5:9-10

Blessed are the peacemakers,
    for they will be called children of God.
10 Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness,
    for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

*picture above is available as a sticker at http://www.cafepress.com/policewivesshop.603462995

One thought on “That Awkward Moment…

Leave a Reply

